Commissioner's Court

Comm-Judge Photo

The county Commissioners Court serves as the governing body in each of Texas' 254 counties. This administrative body was established by the Texas Constitution of 1876 and is comprised of a county judge and four commissioners. The major duties of the Commissioners Court involves overseeing the budgetary and policy making functions of county government. In addition, in many counties, commissioners have extensive responsibilities related to the building and maintenance of county roads. (Read More)